top of page

Grab The Best Bargains In January Sales, While Remaining a Conscious Consumer


As we are in the middle of January, sales are in full swing, and It's a perfect opportunity to refresh your wardrobe. Now is the best time to add some necessary basics, or treat yourself with a really smart piece from the latest and upcoming trends. January sales are not an excuse to recklessly overspend and increase unneeded clutter in your wardrobe, therefore, I have prepared a few simple steps to show you how to make January sales not only a benefit to wallet, but also to your personal style and diversity of outfits within your collection. 1) Think your closet content and personal style through before hitting a shopping mall. Take into consideration your daily working schedule, the dress code at your office, and how do you spend your free time.

Make a list of items you feel are missing, and imagine things that can match the clothes you already own. Your aim is to get matching and interchangeable items that can help you to easily build a few new looks for work and free time. 2) You will never go wrong by investing in good quality basics, like nude, beige, navy blue, black or white roll neck jumpers, sweaters, nicely cut shirts, t-shirts, trousers, blazers, and well-fitting jeans. During the sales, you have a greater chance to be able to afford purchasing from brands that you normally couldn’t. Just remember, at this time, there is a huge demand for these items, and they can become sold out extremely quickly.

3) Always pay attention to the material composition of the clothing items you buy - bearing in mind, that natural materials like wool or silk will be more skin friendly, regulate your body temperature, look more luxurious, last longer if you take the correct care of it, are more environment friendly, and most likely to be produced ethically. The composition of the clothing should always win over the brand. 4) January sales can benefit your preparation towards the upcoming spring/summer seasons - there are chances you can still find remaining relevant stock in stores or online shops. Recently I spotted linen shirts and trousers in Mango with 50-70% discount, and these items are timeless. There was a variety of summer sandals and sneakers in multiple shops too. When spring starts, they will be more expensive. Or you can even think about the next cold season (autumn/winter). Do you like wearing a puffer jacket or faux fur coat during the winter, but your current one is nearly worn out? Maybe you are thinking about new winter shoes, because your current ones will not survive through the next winter - get them now! When the next winter begins, such goodies will be overpriced. My gains from January sales My trick for catching the goodies, is to think about the items I want to purchase a bit in advance, go to stores before the sales craziness starts, and find out my sizes within different brands. Then I go to online stores and order the perfectly fitting sizes, with no need to be pushed by a crazy crowd, trying to catch 'the same fish'. This year I wanted to add to my already existing wardrobe content. A couple of woolen roll neck jumpers in a dark and nude color, a crisp white shirt, and a warm long and thick cardigan to protect me from a colder than usual Polish winter. After some brief research, Massimo Dutti and United Colors of Benetton were the places that could offer the best quality and price ratio. Once I approach the stores in December to check whether they had what I was looking for, the items of my size in my desired colors were sold out. But I used that visit to make sure I know my size, as it can vary from brand to brand. Then, as soon as the January sales kicked off, I caught my desired goodies with all the desired features and with more than 50% off ! Unboxing was also real fun, all the purchased items fit me perfectly, they add to my basic wardrobe foundations on which I am building classy, comfortable everyday work and free time looks.

bottom of page